On 6 September 1974, the Monetary Authority of Swaziland introduced notes in denominations of E1, E2, E5 and E10, with E20 notes following in 1978.  In 1981, the Central Bank of Swaziland produced and issued the first notes commemorating the Diamond Jubilee of King Sobhuza II.  Between 1982 and 1985, the Bank introduced non-commemorative notes for E2, E5, E10, and E20.  In 1990 E50 notes were introduced.

In 1995, E2 and E5 notes were replaced by coins, whilst E100 and E200 emalangeni notes were introduced in 1996 and 1998, respectively, with the E200 notes commemorating the 30th anniversary of independence. On September 5, 2008, the Central Bank of Swaziland issued E100 and E200 notes to commemorate the 40th birthday of King Mswati III and the 40th anniversary of independence. In 2010, the Central Bank of Swaziland issued a new series of banknotes with enhanced security features. (see poster of notes security features and description below)

Click here to read more about the new Lilangeni bank notes.