The Use of the Lilangeni

The Central Bank of Eswatini’s mission is to foster financial sector stability conducive to economic development in the Kingdom. Our vision is to be amongst the top five leading Central Banks in the Eastern and Southern African region. In order to achieve these, the Bank is expected to execute its mandate as provided for in the Central Bank of Eswatini Order of 1975, as amended.

Part of this mandate is that of issuing and redeeming currency in the Kingdom of Eswatini. This responsibility has been executed by the Bank since the very first day the local currency was introduced as legal tender on 6th September 1974.

Currency refers to money in any form when in actual use or circulation as a medium of exchange, especially circulating banknotes and coins. A more general definition is that a currency is a system of money (monetary units) in common use, especially in a nation.

In Eswatini we have five (5) denominations of Emalangeni bank notes (E200, E100, E50, E20 and E10) and seven (7) denominations of coins (5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, E1, E2 and E5). The Lilangeni Currency (SZL) was introduced in 1974 at par with the South African Rand through the CMA (Common Monetary Area) to which it remains tied at a one-to-one exchange rate.

The Central Bank of Eswatini as empowered by the Central Bank Order of 1974 as amended has the sole right to issue notes and coins which are a legal tender within Eswatini. No other person other than CBS shall issue in Eswatini notes or coins or any documents or tokens payable to bearer on demand, having the appearance of or purporting to be currency. Any person contravening this act shall be guilty of an offence and liable on conviction to a fine of E10000 or imprisonment for seven years or both, as a cording to the CBS order